Glass Animals

Glass Animals continue to demonstrate why they were one of the true global breakthrough artists of 2016. ‘How To Be A Human Being’ was released at the end of August via Caroline International / Wolf Tone to rave album reviews, and Radio 1 and 6music A-listed single ‘Life Itself’. They have now amassed 300 million Spotify streams and regularly hitting 3 million monthly listeners on the platform, obliterating all expectations created by first album ‘Zaba’s’ word of mouth buzz.

2016's biggest achievement for the band was the Mercury Music Prize nomination - a huge milestone for the band and Wolf Tone. 

The band have had a phenomenal live year in 2016 and so far in 2017, selling out their entire UK, EU and US tours, and noteable festival performances including fourth from headline on the mainstage at Coachella. They have also had TV appearances in the UK on Later With Jools Holland, and in the US with the Late Late Show with James Corden, Jimmy Kimmel live and Late Night with Seth Meyers.

‘How To Be A Human Being’ is about people. Many of lead singer Dave Bayley’s lyrical ideas came from live recordings of people saved on Dave’s phone, as though he’d been operating as some sort of roaming journalist all this time. “I try to sneakily record people, and I have hours and hours of these amazing rants from taxi drivers, people we met outside of shows, people at parties. People say the strangest shit when they don’t think they’re ever gonna see you again...and sometimes they’ll break your heart with the saddest, most touching stories.” The voice notes sparked ideas for characters that Dave developed, writing an album like a TV screenwriter might approach a script. “I’d obsess over what they ate, where they lived, what their furniture looked like, what they wore,” he laughs. “Some of it’s quite autobiographical but said through the eyes of someone else.”

From the depths of ‘Agnes’ to the danceable humour of ‘Life Itself’, ‘How To Be A Human Being’ is a zeitgeist-leaning, intrepid exploration into what makes us all tick, told from the viewpoint of four guys who have experienced life in its most extreme and unexpected form for the past two years. It doesn’t just connect with your feet - it connects with your brain, your heart, your soul.

‘How To Be A Human Being’ is a multi-layered, nuanced album that uniquely splices together 40 years of sonic history in a way that’s emphatically forward-sounding. In the characters and themes explored, the record creates a world for fans to inhabit. With every listen comes further insight, not just into Glass Animals’ universe but the human condition itself.



Glass Animals


  1. Flip (3:42)
  2. Black Mambo (4:08)
  3. Pools (4:48)
  4. Gooey (4:49)
  5. Walla Walla (3:37)
  6. Intruxx (2:49)
  7. Hazey (4:25)
  8. Toes (4:14)
  9. Wyrd (4:05)
  10. Cocoa Hooves (4:31)
  11. JDNT (4:24)

Download from iTunes

Line of Best Fit Review (9/10)

Lose Control

Glass Animals & Joey Bada$$


Glass Animals

How To Be A Human Being

Glass Animals